On Stitch Fix #1: June 2015…

I’m nervous about posting this because this will be quite a departure from my normal post. I am reviewing something. I’m doing this for two reasons. One…I think it’s a cool idea.  Not my reviewing something, but this start-up, Stitch Fix is innovative. And also, because if you have similar feelings then perhaps you will grab my link and I’ll get a little referral fee. I’ll explain more later. But first the review.

I was ridiculously excited to get this little box in the mail. As others who have reviewed this service have said, there’s a surprise in every box, chosen for you by someone who may know your taste better than anyone else, because you made a Pinterest board just for them.

The way these reviews work, if you don’t know, is that the reviewer takes pictures of herself in each item and then says a little about the item. What’s kind of cool is that you can post a link of your review to the stylist and then they can know what you liked and didn’t like. A little conversation online between stylist and subject. So, the rest of this post is all for Christina, wherever she may be.  Special thanks to my hubby, who willingly got up from playing his video game in-between my costume changes to take these pictures.

#1: PAPERMOON Shea Striped French Terry Dress
Verdict–KEEP

IMG_8363

When I first put this on, I was not keeping it.  This dress is not the most flattering shape on me. And I think it’s a little big. But only slightly so that the next size down might be too small (Christina actually knows my MEASUREMENTS…guard them with your life, Christina!)  The waist is elastic, so it holds on without being uncomfortable.  I do wish that the tie in the front was a belt.  It would be nice to be able to add a belt just for some contrast.  The tie in the front is just there as decoration.  It doesn’t come off nor does it make the waist tighter.

But as I wore it it I realized, that this is one of those dresses that I could live in all summer. It’s light-weight, cool, can be a runaround town dress or a pool cover up. I love it…except for the horizontal stripes, Christina. I really don’t like horizontal stripes.

#2: EVERLY Nadia Dress
Verdict–UNDECIDED

IMG_8366

Love the color on this dress. It’s actually just right for me in the summer. The fabric reminds me of my grandmother’s closet. That’s not a bad thing.  Mac, my husband, likes it and it’s different from some other dresses I have in my closet. I think that this will work as a Sunday dress throughout the summer.

#3: PIXLEY Brook Dot Print Tie-Waist Top
Verdict–UNDECIDED

IMG_8370

Hard to tell from the picture, but this is a pretty sheer top. I don’t have anything like this in my closet. I don’t have ANY polka dots in my closet. So this is a departure for me. Christina, you said you put this in instead of a white tunic top. I do like it. It’s nice and light for summer.

#4: COLLECTIVE CONCEPTS Dustin Mixed Material Top
Verdict–KEEP

IMG_8372

When I first pulled this out, I didn’t think I would like it. The colors are similar to dresses that I pinned. I love navy and white. But the pattern is horizontal and the shoulders give a more boxy appearance. But when I put it on with the white skinny jeans and navy sandals, Mac said “I like it.” Unequivocally. I think this top can move from summer to fall pretty easily with jeans or navy dress pants. I should have taken a picture of the back…it’s solid white with a zipper at the neckline. Again, not something that I would normally choose, but I see you, Christina, as someone who is broadening my clothing horizons.

#5: URBAN EXPRESSIONS Caroline Hobo Bag
Verdict–UNDECIDED

IMG_8393

I’m on the fence about this one, as well. I did post some pics on the Pinterest board of bags. I am trying to expand my accessories. Maybe even do a little bag swapping through the season instead of picking one and staying with that for 6 months or more (or until I wear them out). This is a nice bag. It looks fancier than what I usually buy.

So, there you go Christina.

Stitch Fix is a personal styling service in which you go to the website and create a style profile.  There is a questionnaire asking about elements of style that you like or don’t like.  You can link to a Pinterest board of styles you are interested in.  You can even leave personal notes for your stylist.  For instance, I included some of my favorite colors and my measurements.  Once you get all that info in, you go onto a list and your “FIX” is scheduled.  There is a $20 styling fee which will be applied to anything you purchase.  You will receive 5 items in each box and you can keep all or none.  If you keep all five items, you get a 25% discount on everything.  Boxes are scheduled to your desire, as often as you like.  From other reviews that I have read, the customer service is pretty great.  If you have a problem with your stylist or damage to clothing, they are good about rectifying those things.

If you, the reader, decide to try out the service, this link does allow me to get a $25 credit.  Which is nice for me, I admit.  Just in case you were wondering, the prices in this fix ranged from $40-$70.

IMG_8377

UPDATE:  I ended up keeping only the pieces I wasn’t undecided about.

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. trwalsh2

     /  June 16, 2015

    Katherine, I love all of your options! #4 in particular looks fantastic. My sister is a HUGE fan of Stitch Fix. Such a great idea!

    Reply
    • Katherine Barron

       /  June 16, 2015

      Thanks, Tiffany! It was fun putting the whole post together.

      Reply
  2. So, I enjoyed your stitch review the most of any I’ve read. But then I reflected and realized it’s probably because your style most matches with mine (out of blogs I read, anyway) so perhaps I just like the clothes better. I can’t justify stitch fix because a) I’m not stylish whatsoever, b) I’m pregnant so shopping is outta the picture for a while c) the thought of throwing away $20 a month if I don’t like anything is too much for me. That being said…

    The first dress is cute and looks breezy for hot summer days. The color on the second dress is good, but it seems a little bland – what type of cut does it have? The whole ‘sheath’ look is apparently back and I find it’s really not that flattering, though it’s not UNflattering on most people. Polka dots are GREAT but I wouldn’t get a sheer shirt only because the required layer underneath is annoying (i.e., oh I can’t wear that shirt because my white tank isn’t clean). But polka dots!!! The mixed material shirt is fun and interesting but not too overdone. And as for me, well, I don’t use bags at all because they annoy me and inevitably I pack them full of heavy objects I don’t need, so that’s a wash. Also a white bag might be a nightmare to clean (I’m thinking coffee stains. But maybe you’re not a mess like me.)

    ANYWAY. There’s my book. Obviously you need to post another book chapter so as to prevent such a wordy comment. 😉

    Reply
    • Katherine Barron

       /  June 16, 2015

      Marie, Thanks! And did you know Stitch Fix does maternity now? Just saying. Might be nice for some very specific pieces. I know I didn’t like spending a ton of money on clothes when I was pregnant. But then there’s always Ebay. 🙂

      Reply
  3. Barbara Jean Roberts

     /  June 17, 2015

    You’re beautiful, my sister. 😊

    Reply
  4. I love that bag!

    Reply
    • Katherine Barron

       /  June 26, 2015

      Thanks, Haley. I liked it, too. Just not for right now.

      Reply
  5. Natalie Zambreski

     /  July 9, 2015

    Katherine – you are SO STINKING CUTE! Everything looks so adorable on you, but I do agree that the two you ended up going with were my favorite! And I feel like I have to try Stitch Fix at least ONCE now… 🙂 I’m newly pregnant and feeling more blah than anything these days, so it’s awesome to hear that they have maternity now too! Did you feel like the pieces were a good quality?

    Reply
    • Katherine Barron

       /  July 10, 2015

      I do. I think, though, that I had gotten used to shopping at bargain places. I still get pieces from there, but these tend to be more nice and more unique, so I don’t mind paying a little more. You can set the price point that you are comfortable with when you set up your profile. And as a pregnant girl, having a box come in once a month where you grab maybe 2 pieces, then sell them all on Ebay after your pregnancy. There’s also a stitch fix b/s/t group (buy/sell/trade) where you can sell pieces – so that you can even get the 25% discount though you may not want to keep them all. Or as you grow out of pieces, sell them.

      Reply
  6. Question? Is it $40-$70 each shipment or each item?

    Reply
    • Katherine Barron

       /  October 28, 2015

      Dana, the each of the items I have received range from $28-98. If you keep all five they are cheaper because of the discount.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

